Social Work Sector

The division of occupations into various sectors and sub sectors is very critical for the development of National Occupational Skill Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curricula. It helps to effectively manage the activities such skills analysis, NOSS development, design and implementation of TVET programs etc. Followings are the major sectors that have been selected as a starting point by the National Skills Development Program and the Directorate General for Skills Development - Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs:

  • Service
  • Business
  • Construction
  • Industry
  • Agriculture
  • Mining
  • Transport
  • Social work
  • Oil and Gas

Social work is the provision of social care, protection or social support services to children or adults in need or at risk, or adults with needs arising from illness, disability, old age or poverty. The trades/skills which are targeted for National Occupational Skills Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curriculum (CBC) as per the labor market analysis conducted by various Non- Formal TVET partners under this sector are as follows:

  • Kindergarten Teacher
  • Kindergarten Nursery Teacher
  • Social Care Worker
  • Final NOSS Child Protection
  • Child Protection Social Worker
  • Child Protection Social Work Supervisor