Service Sector

The division of occupations into various sectors and sub sectors is very critical for the development of National Occupational Skill Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curricula. It helps to effectively manage the activities such skills analysis, NOSS development, design and implementation TVET programs etc. Major sectors that have been selected as a starting point by the Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs are the followings:

  • Service
  • Business
  • Construction
  • Industry
  • Agriculture
  • Mining
  • Transport
  • Social work
  • Oil and Gas

Service Sector:

The service sector consists of occupations that are associated with the repair and maintenance of mechanical, electrical and electronic equipment and supplies. Under service sector, the following trades have been targeted for National Occupational Skills Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curriculum (CBC) based on the labor market assessment conducted by various Non- Formal TVET partners:

  • Repair and maintenance of Motor Vehicle which includes mechanical parts, electrical and electronic parts, Panel beating and Painting
  • Repair and maintenance of Motorcycle/Motorbike
  • Repair and maintenance of Earth moving equipment
  • Repair and maintenance of Agriculture Machinery
  • Repair and maintenance of Refrigerator and Air condition
  • Repair of Radio and Television
  • Repair and maintenance of Bicycle
  • Repair of Mobile Phone
  • Repair and maintenance of domestic power appliances
  • Repair and maintenance of power generator
  • Solar Panel installation and maintenance

As of March 2019, 46 NOSS, 23 curricula and 1 WIM have been developed under the service sector.