Industry sector

The division of occupations into various sectors and sub sectors is very critical for the development of National Occupational Skill Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curricula. It helps to effectively manage the activities such skills analysis, NOSS development, design and implementation TVET programs etc. Major sectors that have been selected as a starting point by the Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs are the followings:

  • Service
  • Business
  • Construction
  • Industry
  • Agriculture
  • Mining
  • Transport
  • Social work
  • Oil and Gas

The industry sector focuses on skills which are associated with the manufacturing and production of goods. Mostly medium and large sized businesses are engaged in this sector. The following trades/skills have been targeted for National Occupational Skills Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curriculum (CBC) as per the labor market analysis conducted by various Non- Formal TVET partners:

  • Machining
  • Printing services
  • Fiber Glass Fabrication
  • Industrial Electronics

As of March 2019, 9 NOSS, 1 curriculum and 1 WIM have been developed under industry sector.