Business sector

The division of occupations into various sectors and sub sectors is very critical for the development of National Occupational Skill Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curricula. It helps to effectively manage the activities such skills analysis, NOSS development, design and implementation TVET programs etc. Major sectors that have been selected as a starting point by the Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs are the followings:

  • Service
  • Business
  • Construction
  • Industry
  • Agriculture
  • Mining
  • Transport
  • Social work
  • Oil and Gas

The business sector consists of skills that are mostly associated with the small and medium sized enterprises. The following trades have been targeted for National Occupational Skills Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curriculum (CBC) as per the labor market analysis conducted by various Non- Formal TVET partners:

  • Furniture Making
  • Embroidery
  • Dress Making
  • Business Development
  • Cooking
  • Hand Woven Carpets and Handicrafts
  • Accounting
  • Administrative services
  • Restaurant services
  • Hotel and Tourism
  • Curtain Making
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Beads Making
  • Gemstone Processing
  • Goldsmithing
  • Domestic Work Services
  • Bags Making
  • Hand Embroidery

As of March 2019, 66 NOSS, 28 curricula and 2 WIM have been developed under Business sector.