Agriculture Sector

The division of occupations into various sectors and sub sectors is very critical for the development of National Occupational Skill Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curricula. It helps to effectively manage the activities such skills analysis, NOSS development, design and implementation TVET programs etc. Major sectors that have been selected as a starting point by the Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs are the followings:

  • Service
  • Business
  • Construction
  • Industry
  • Agriculture
  • Mining
  • Transport
  • Social work
  • Oil and Gas

After services, the agricultural sector stands as the second largest contributor to GDP growth in Afghanistan and major area of employment. The World              Bank estimates that 45% of the poor depend on agriculture for their livelihood. The trades/skills which are targeted for National Occupational Skills Standards (NOSS) and Competency Based Curriculum (CBC) as per the labor market analysis conducted by various Non- Formal TVET partners under agriculture sector are as follows:

  • Veterinary
  • Poultry
  • Food processing
  • Orchard farming
  • Bee keeping
  • Fruit bearing trees nursery
  • Fish farming
  • Animal husbandry

As of March 2019, 33 NOSS, 16 curricula and 1 WIM have been developed under Agriculture sector.